gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > Technical Issues

Technical Issues For bug reports, problem solving, and help running Japanese software.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2005-01-19, 00:13
vhirvela vhirvela is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default Problem with kanon translation font

I saw this game beeing played at one of my friends house and the translation text was a bit messy. (Some letters were writen so closely that You had to really carefully read to know were some words start and other words end also some letters were top of each other making the words incomprehensible.)

My friend was kinda sure that the problem was in his own computer. What can he do? Also is there no opening theme in the orginal adult version? I saw what seemed to be english words for a song but I heard no music. Thanks in advance.
  #2  
Old 2005-01-19, 00:24
zalas zalas is offline
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: fushigi misuterii
Posts: 1,831
Send a message via ICQ to zalas
Default

The song plays from the CD, so if your CD audio playing isn't working right, then you're not going to hear the OP. As for the font, make sure that you choose a fixed-width font and not a variable width one. I think Haeleth included a good fixed-width font ( hikyaku.ttf ) that should work. If you use variable width fonts, the spacing will get jumbled up.
  #3  
Old 2005-01-19, 01:50
vhirvela vhirvela is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zalas
The song plays from the CD, so if your CD audio playing isn't working right, then you're not going to hear the OP. As for the font, make sure that you choose a fixed-width font and not a variable width one. I think Haeleth included a good fixed-width font ( hikyaku.ttf ) that should work. If you use variable width fonts, the spacing will get jumbled up.
How can I install the fixed font? In game meny there Is no change possible because no other fonts are in the font list?
  #4  
Old 2005-01-19, 02:33
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Copy "hikyaku.ttf" from the Kanon folder into C:\WINDOWS\FONTS (or C:\WINNT\FONTS, depending on where Windows is). It should then appear in the font menu in-game.

For the music, as Zalas says, check that normal audio CDs can be played in that computer. If they can, then the problem is probably the one described in the Kanon FAQ under the heading "How do I get the music to work in Windows 2000/XP?".

HTH.
  #5  
Old 2005-01-19, 22:15
vhirvela vhirvela is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haeleth
Copy "hikyaku.ttf" from the Kanon folder into C:\WINDOWS\FONTS (or C:\WINNT\FONTS, depending on where Windows is). It should then appear in the font menu in-game.

For the music, as Zalas says, check that normal audio CDs can be played in that computer. If they can, then the problem is probably the one described in the Kanon FAQ under the heading "How do I get the music to work in Windows 2000/XP?".

HTH.
Thanks now I got really good font! but no luck with the musics. I only hear main theme after starting the game. No opening theme or anykind of music .
I don't know if it helps but if I skip texts I can hear the main theme beeing played in the op part (no vocals so it cant be the real op I figured) and even in the part where the main hero wakes up in the morning.

So the music never fades away and new music does not start to play. I tried to use that fade.exe thing but no luck.
  #6  
Old 2005-01-20, 01:30
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vhirvela
So the music never fades away and new music does not start to play. I tried to use that fade.exe thing but no luck.
Odd... because that's exactly the problem that setfade.exe is supposed to solve.

If you do Start->Run, "regedit.exe", then click on HKEY_CURRENT_USER, Software, KEY, and finally KANON, is there an entry in the right-hand list called "CDDAVolFade", and if so, is the associated value "1"? If not, try giving it that value (create it first if necessary with Edit->New->String value).
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kanon French Translation : Problem with the protagonist's name Sosongoku Technical Issues 1 2010-10-22 09:01
CLannad problem Font SouYir0 Technical Issues 2 2008-04-12 04:16
Problem playing Kanon Sieg Technical Issues 2 2007-07-13 18:38
Problem with Kanon... Korokoro Technical Issues 3 2004-07-01 20:50
Kanon Installer Problem Yuki Technical Issues 2 2004-06-25 02:36


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.