gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > General Discussion

General Discussion Theres a Clannad of AIR-headed Kanon fodder being shot by the Little Busters After Tomoyo on a Planet-arian.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 2009-02-27, 19:01
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyuichi View Post
Looks interesting, maybe I'll try it once my Windows backup completes (It backs up a bit every time I run Windows but its sooo slow). Upon further investigation, the free WinClone can backup Windows so you can resize the partition (destructively) and then put everything right back how it was; but thats not half as convenient as CampTune sounds to be.
I was going to try it out, since I recieved and in stalled XP, but it didn'twork.

The program would boot, but after that, all I would get is a "no hdd installed" error.
*sigh*
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 2009-02-28, 00:14
jyuichi's Avatar
jyuichi jyuichi is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayato View Post
I got everything going, and wil be trying out camptune now.
I'll tell you how it all goes.
(Btw, how big is your windows partition? I have a 320gb hd, that was bought and had a little less than 300gb when used. I gave around 61gb to the windows, and plan on taking off 11gbs with camptune)
I too have to 320GB/300GiB harddrive; that decimal (10^9) and binary (2^30) difference really stands out at these large sizes. My old computers hard drive was 30GB (about 27GiB) though so I never noticed the difference till now.

I split it evenly in half because I hate uninstalling games (I play old ones alot) or running off the discs (silly since all the cases are lined up in easy reach) and I plan to do multiple installs of a couple games so I can use either language (planetarian and little busters are at the top of that list). I have about 100GB open on each half right now but I still need to install some applications since I have a Windows family and work with Windows at school (sadly...)

If you cut it down to 50 GB you will still have a plenty of room though :) I know quite a few people who squeeze into 32GB just for FAT32 support and it works out alright.

EDIT: (Missed your last post at first). Couldn't find the hard drive at all? That seems like a strange error even for beta software. Atleast you didn't lose any data (though hopefully you have Time Machie configured)
__________________
Twitter: @jyuichi

Last edited by jyuichi; 2009-02-28 at 00:16. Reason: spacing out cause its late at night
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 2009-03-02, 02:22
DaFool DaFool is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 97
Default

I learned my lesson many years ago when I dual-booted Windows and Linux on a mere 20GB hard disk -_-. I underestimated how much crap tends to accumulate on the Windows side, requiring constant reinstallations since I didn't have unallocated space to grow into. I suggest whatever you originally have intended to have allocated for Windows, add 50GB to its partition.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 2009-03-02, 03:21
NML NML is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaFool View Post
I learned my lesson many years ago when I dual-booted Windows and Linux on a mere 20GB hard disk -_-. I underestimated how much crap tends to accumulate on the Windows side, requiring constant reinstallations since I didn't have unallocated space to grow into. I suggest whatever you originally have intended to have allocated for Windows, add 50GB to its partition.
Vista tends to grow in size (and you can't shrink it!), but XP doesn't take much space, 4GBs should be enough for windows + office. For games and another programs I install them to another partition (that also containt music, pictures, video etc...).
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 2009-03-02, 13:23
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

True, I barely use my windows side though. It is kind of sad.
After I picked up a $60 mac office 04, I have been using the windows side less and less. (Only for games now.) It is kind of nice, cosidering how I can leave it in japanese uni to play eroge and visual novels. (No problems with clannad, kanon, or other games. I just wish some games I have had patches so I can actually read the story rather than click and prey.)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 2009-03-02, 19:37
jyuichi's Avatar
jyuichi jyuichi is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayato View Post
True, I barely use my windows side though. It is kind of sad.
After I picked up a $60 mac office 04, I have been using the windows side less and less. (Only for games now.) It is kind of nice, cosidering how I can leave it in japanese uni to play eroge and visual novels. (No problems with clannad, kanon, or other games. I just wish some games I have had patches so I can actually read the story rather than click and prey.)
MS Office < OpenOffice.org < iWork ;)

Yeah the only weird thing with leaving it in JP is how things like Apple software updater (used to get drivers etc) will insist on running partially in Japanese but also partially in English.
__________________
Twitter: @jyuichi
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 2009-03-02, 22:57
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyuichi View Post
MS Office < OpenOffice.org < iWork ;)

Yeah the only weird thing with leaving it in JP is how things like Apple software updater (used to get drivers etc) will insist on running partially in Japanese but also partially in English.
that and in the address bar for windows explorer has the yen symbol :P
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 2009-03-03, 21:01
jyuichi's Avatar
jyuichi jyuichi is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayato View Post
that and in the address bar for windows explorer has the yen symbol :P
I'm so used to it I don't even remember what its supposed to look like XD
__________________
Twitter: @jyuichi
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 2009-03-04, 02:38
Asceai's Avatar
Asceai Asceai is offline
Posts way too much
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,413
Default

Yeah, you get used to the yen sign very quickly. And, yes, a number of applications will decide that you want a Japanese language interface, but hey - I've got no problem with getting a bit of extra practice with the language =P
__________________
www.erogenews.com
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 2009-08-18, 01:28
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

Any word or updates?
Reply With Quote
  #56