gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > Technical Issues

Technical Issues For bug reports, problem solving, and help running Japanese software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2006-02-20, 15:44
Roto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default haeleth.net CSS/layout

The layout for haeleth.net is currently broken under Safari and other WebKit/KHTML browsers. You've tried to comment out a line in your CSS file using "//", which is not a valid comment in CSS (use "/* comment */" instead). Gecko doesn't seem to be bothered by it, but WebKit gets confused and renders the page without the CSS.

It's just a minor issue (the page is still usable) but it would be kind of nice to have the layout back. ^^
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-02-20, 15:55
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Oops, that'll teach me to do CSS when I've just been doing JavaScript. :(

Should be fixed now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-02-20, 17:53
Roto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yep, that looks a lot better. :)

The different comment strings sure can be hard to keep track of, can't they?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-02-20, 18:06
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

--//#(*/*{--}*/*)

I really ought to get a KHTML/WebCore browser up and running... at the moment I'm only testing things in Gecko, Presto, and Trident. But that would basically mean installing KDE on my Linux box, and I'm not sure poor little Layamon would cope with such bloat...

Makes mental note to get a new Mac at some point. Unless there's a way of running OS X on an LC II? :P
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-02-20, 18:26
inuyasha9854
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Your LC II would suddenly erupt into a blue-gray smoke, the magic smoke having been depleted by the mere mention of OS X on a non-PPC proc. In short, the LC II uses a different architecture than the PowerPCs we know today.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-02-20, 19:16
Roto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sure, there's a way to do it:

1. Find a Linux distribution that runs on the 68k processor.
2. Build X.
3. Build PearPC (a PowerPC emulator).
4. Mount and boot OS X installer disk image.
5. Go have a cup of tea while it loads. And another, and another, and another...

You could probably code up a complete PowerPC emulator in RealLive bytecode before it ever finished loading ;)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-02-20, 20:10
inuyasha9854
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This is where we go back to it running out of Magic Smoke, and blowing up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2006-02-20, 22:00
GreatSaintLouis GreatSaintLouis is offline
Addicted
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 807
Default

What if I donated my spare LCII and Classic II to Haeleth's? It could be an Apple Beowulf cluster!

We could call it... the 'Apple Grove'.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2006-02-20, 22:40
zalas zalas is offline
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: fushigi misuterii
Posts: 1,831
Send a message via ICQ to zalas
Default

Apple Orchard probably sounds better...
Haeleth should get a Powerbook/iBook/MacBook and join me, Choco and gp32 in the mac notebook fanclub. ;o
__________________
~Yoda is waiting in the air~ | HAVEN
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2006-02-21, 07:53
inuyasha9854
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'd do so....if not for the fact I have no money, and I need to get an AMD-based notebook first....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2006-02-21, 08:00
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zalas
Haeleth should get a Powerbook/iBook/MacBook and join me, Choco and gp32 in the mac notebook fanclub. ;o
I considered it.
Then I looked at my bank balance.
Then I typed <tt>ssh root@layamon apt-get install konqueror</tt>...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2006-02-21, 08:50
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Woo! Nice. This is Konqueror running as a remote X client across a LAN, and it's almost as responsive as Firefox running locally?! I don't know whether to be impressed with Cygwin or disappointed with Firefox...

Hmm, I'm getting some weird results on the main page of haeleth.net. Does the Japanese text for 1 Jan 2005 get rendered diagonally in Safari too, or is that a Konqueror quirk? :/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2006-02-21, 10:35
gp32 gp32 is offline
Irregular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 304
Default

Just remember that the original KHTML and Safari's fork of it can be wildly different -- sometimes so much so that it would be unfair to call Safari's rendering engine "KHTML" at all. To answer your immediate question, no, I do not see that 1 Jan 2005 issue on my iBook.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2006-02-21, 12:09
zalas zalas is offline
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: fushigi misuterii
Posts: 1,831
Send a message via ICQ to zalas
Default

Looks fine on my Powerbook as well. Could it be a font problem with Konqueror?
__________________
~Yoda is waiting in the air~ | HAVEN
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2006-02-21, 12:18
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Possibly. It's not restricted to my site, at any rate - seems any bold Japanese text will be rendered with each successive character slightly higher than the last, so the text rises across the page.

Either it's a problem with Konqueror, or with my setup of it (maybe it doesn't like the way I haven't installed the whole of KDE). I can't be bothered to track it down right now. Even if it's a genuine KHTML bug, it's clearly been fixed in WebCore, and that's the important platform...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haeleth contact. Blackiris Production & Help 16 2009-09-05 09:21
Visual-Novels.Net down (for how long?) mutio General Discussion 43 2008-02-08 07:21
File layout for Kanon Ashes Technical Issues 2 2008-01-30 01:00
Misu-Net dropped dead? (RESOLVED -> www.visualnews.net) Rasqual Twilight General Discussion 5 2006-06-27 02:37
misu-net forums hacked vampiresaru Technical Issues 2 2006-02-01 15:27


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.