gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > Production & Help

Production & Help For discussions regarding production aspects, especially localisation, of visual novels and related games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2008-07-08, 17:09
awwaw awwaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Question quick question about kirikiri

Good day!

I am writing a game from scratch with the Kirikiri engine for a doujin project of mine, and would like to ask if there is anyway to compile it to run on machines that do not have East Asia languages support?

I've searched through this forum but only found threads that are about trying to run extracted projects compiled from the start with the Japanese language in mind. Just wondering... is there a way to compile it (from scratch, and not from an extracted project) so that it runs on non-Japanese machines?

I've also read about converting files to unicode and stuff. I've tried that but it still throws up an error about ANSI, according to one of my friends who is testing it.

Another friend of mine mentioned a Chinese patched version called KAGeXpress (I believe one of the members here is the driving force behind it?) and that friend claims is able to run on any machine, even the non-Chinese ones. I tried that too, but... it doesn't work on my machine!! XD

I am running Windows 2000 (yes, yes, I know, I know...) with Japanese as the default language. My locale is English (United States).

My project runs on my machine, but not on my friends' machines. They do not have East Asia language packs installed and so AppLoc doesn't work for them either. Not to mention the moment it throws up an error, it lowers their motivation to test it altogether... T.T

Any l33t haxx0rz or expert kiri user out there who can help with this problem? XD Thanks in advance!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2008-07-08, 17:37
Asceai's Avatar
Asceai Asceai is offline
Posts way too much
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,413
Default

The exact unicode encoding matters. For kirikiri, I believe you want UTF-16 with a byte-order mark. If it's not that, try UTF-16 LE without the BOM.
__________________
www.erogenews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2008-07-08, 23:09
TimScampi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think it's a source code limitation...
As the engine is open source, it would be possible to make an internationnal fork, translated in english, with non-japanese support etc.
But I don't think your problem is an encoding problem. On kirikiri, I've used UTF-8 to encode french caracters (é, è, à, ç, ...) but it asked me for the japanese locale anyway, even when all the system and scenario files are set tu Unicode, UTF-8 or whatever.
You need to find the place in, the source code of Kirikiri where it deals with system locale, maybe implement 1 byte-caracter support if it's not in already, and some other functions.
It would be very cool to have an internationnal fork of this, because the translations are shitty with the original versions. (Actually, when you apply Insani's word-wrap hack, text goes out of the dialog box in all games I tested it with... Not to mention the locale problem...)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2008-07-08, 23:28
Asceai's Avatar
Asceai Asceai is offline
Posts way too much
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,413
Default

You don't want UTF-8, you want UTF-16. And Kirikiri handles it just fine. As far as I can tell there are no requirements for it.

Also what do you mean that translations are shitty with it? Look at True Remembrance for crying out loud - no requirement for Japanese locale, and it's certainly far from shitty.

Why the hell do you want to fork something that works just fine? And this talk about adding 1-byte character support makes me wonder if you even know what you're talking about - OF COURSE it has one-byte character support. It always did!

Insani's word-wrap hack is also fine; you probably didn't apply all parts of the patch or run the wordwrapping script properly. I used a modified form of it in my Devil on the G String translation and there's no wordwrapping problems.
__________________
www.erogenews.com

Last edited by Asceai; 2008-07-08 at 23:37.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2008-07-09, 03:32
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

wordwraping script is bad, because editing is mess then... rather make own wordwraping in kirikiri tjs scripts, its way better then wordwrapping insani script.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2008-07-09, 06:41
awwaw awwaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asceai View Post
The exact unicode encoding matters. For kirikiri, I believe you want UTF-16 with a byte-order mark. If it's not that, try UTF-16 LE without the BOM.
thanks for the reply!

what tool do you think i could use? the one i have is convertz. it informs me that everything is in UTF-16LE already. still can't run on friend's machine. any other tool i could try?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2008-07-09, 06:45
awwaw awwaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimScampi View Post
I think it's a source code limitation...
[snip]
You need to find the place in, the source code of Kirikiri where it deals with system locale, maybe implement 1 byte-caracter support if it's not in already, and some other functions.
thank you for the reply!

i would love to mess around with the actual source code. unfortunately i am not l33t haxx0rz enough. XD i'm sure they do support 1-byte characters, but there must be something making the program throw up errors everytime the standard compilation is being run on a non-japanese locale. i'm sure there must be a way around it. if only we could figure out how...!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2008-07-09, 06:47
awwaw awwaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asceai View Post
Look at True Remembrance for crying out loud - no requirement for Japanese locale...
this statement is interesting. how did the game manage to run without requiring the japanese locale? if you know, please do enlighten me! thank you so much!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2008-07-09, 09:07
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awwaw View Post
this statement is interesting. how did the game manage to run without requiring the japanese locale? if you know, please do enlighten me! thank you so much!!
kirikiri requires Japanese locale only when script is itself written in S-JIS, when its on Unicode UTF16LE, it doesn't need it (of course, for Japanese characters, you need fonts).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2008-07-09, 09:55
zalas zalas is offline
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: fushigi misuterii
Posts: 1,831
Send a message via ICQ to zalas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enerccio View Post
wordwraping script is bad, because editing is mess then... rather make own wordwraping in kirikiri tjs scripts, its way better then wordwrapping insani script.
What's stopping you from editing the pre-wordwrapped script and then just running a command to get everything compiled? I seriously doubt anyone's editing the post-wordwrapped script...
__________________
~Yoda is waiting in the air~ | HAVEN
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2008-07-09, 10:14
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zalas View Post
What's stopping you from editing the pre-wordwrapped script and then just running a command to get everything compiled? I seriously doubt anyone's editing the post-wordwrapped script...
it makes testing easier. You just need to run the game, but with insani script, you have to run trough it (every file) and then run the game
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2008-07-09, 11:30
Asceai's Avatar
Asceai Asceai is offline
Posts way too much
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enerccio View Post
it makes testing easier. You just need to run the game, but with insani script, you have to run trough it (every file) and then run the game
So? You're probably going to have a script for running the command to create the xp3 patch anyway.. just have the wordwrapping script calls there.
__________________
www.erogenews.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2008-07-09, 11:53
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asceai View Post
So? You're probably going to have a script for running the command to create the xp3 patch anyway.. just have the wordwrapping script calls there.
is there a need?
just put all in /data/scenario or something, I think it will run, and if no, extract everything in /data/ structure and it will run without any archiving.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2008-07-09, 13:12
Asceai's Avatar
Asceai Asceai is offline
Posts way too much
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,413
Default

I prefer keeping things in patch state - same when working with reallive, really. Just because it works with my workflow better. I don't just deal with the straight .ks scripts anyway - I've got scripts to perform certain forms of processing on them first, so I might as well create the patch at the same time and make sure it's always in a patchable state.
__________________
www.erogenews.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2008-07-09, 14:04
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

well I guess so, everybody like it their way
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a question about RLdev Calorate Technical Issues 5 2017-01-30 12:07
Help! Question about pronunciation ZHANG FELIX General Discussion 2 2014-04-28 20:04
KiriKiri game complains about startup.tjs andoru Production & Help 6 2011-01-14 02:40
Err... Quick Planetarian question... npChaos General Discussion 3 2006-01-21 16:33
Technical Question about ONE Misu Technical Issues 3 2005-01-05 03:39


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.