gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > Production & Help

Production & Help For discussions regarding production aspects, especially localisation, of visual novels and related games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-02-17, 11:31
qazmlpok qazmlpok is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default KiriKiri and patch.xp3

I'm trying to work with the scripts for a doujin game using KiriKiri. I got the Insani XP3 tools and modified them to handle the encryption, but I can't make the game load patch.xp3. I tried taking one of the script files and throwing in some English text and used the repack script to create patch.xp3 and put that in the same directory as data.xp3. No change. The (modified) extract script works on patch.xp3, so the archive was created correctly with the encryption set properly. patch.xp3 was created with a flat directory structure like the instructions said, but I also tried keeping the original structure with no luck. And yet when I completely rebuilt data.xp3 with the modified script file, it worked perfectly. So I didn't do anything strange to the script file, or modify the wrong file, or anything like that. It just doesn't seem to load patch.xp3 at all.

I can't seem to find any real English support for KiriKiri or the use of patch.xp3. All I'm going on is the README.txt in the Insani tools, which just says "It should work, unless it doesn't, but it probably will". It does mention that KiriKiri only "usually" looks for patch.xp3. So is there any way to definitely tell if it's not even looking for patch.xp3, and if not, make it read the patch? Or am I just doing something wrong here that's immediately obvious to more a seasoned hacker?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2009-02-18, 02:29
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

Why are you packing with insani tools?
Why not pack with kirikiri tools?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2009-02-18, 17:05
qazmlpok qazmlpok is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enerccio View Post
Why are you packing with insani tools?
Why not pack with kirikiri tools?
Because I wasn't aware that was an option. I knew about the Insani tools, so I decided to use them. Would using the official tools even fix my problem? Plus, as far as I can tell, the Insani tools are the only ones in English.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2009-02-18, 17:23
Asceai's Avatar
Asceai Asceai is offline
Posts way too much
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,413
Default

startup.tjs is generally the piece that ends up loading the patches. You'll have to check your game's startup.tjs to find out what patch files it uses + the loading order. While kirikiri is BY DEFAULT happy with patch.xp3, patch2.xp3 etc. the individual game may have modified this, to e.g. change the filenames of patches (like g sen does) or eliminate patch loading entirely (which means you'll have to do a little bit more work!). It's rare for the latter to happen because it means that the creator can't easily patch their own game, but it's not unheard of.
__________________
www.erogenews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2009-02-18, 19:27
qazmlpok qazmlpok is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

useArchiveIfExists("patch.xp3");

that's in Initialize.tjs, which startup.tjs redirected me to. Comparing the file to Fate's Initialize.tjs shows no major changes. Both have the same useArchiveIfExists function and the exact same calls, using the exact same filenames. So, as far as I can tell from that, it should be loading patch.xp3. Only way I can see it being different from Fate is if Storages.isExistentStorage was redefined, but a function like that doesn't look like it could be redefined.

Maybe I'm packing the patch file wrong? Could you confirm the steps of,
modify file \out\scenario\scean\sc.ks, where '\out' is the target directory for the extract
move file to a new directory, \in. No directory structure within \in, no other files since none were modified
use the repack tool on \in to generate file patch.xp3
move patch.xp3 to the directory the executable is in.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2009-02-18, 21:05
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

that should work, hmm
if you use krkr repack tool, dont forget to actually move ks to the middle column so it gets packed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2009-02-18, 21:15
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

Okay follow these steps:

1. run kirikiri/tools/krkrrel.exe
2. in the open directory, pick directory where are scripts you modified are located (it shouldn't have any subdirectories)
3. Click here:

4. Pick a place and filename for xp3.
5. Click on File (here):

6. Click on this arrow:

7. Go back and click here


All done, just move your xp3 where you need to.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2009-02-19, 05:10
qazmlpok qazmlpok is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enerccio View Post
Okay follow these steps:

1. run kirikiri/tools/krkrrel.exe
2. in the open directory, pick directory where are scripts you modified are located (it shouldn't have any subdirectories)
3. Click here:

4. Pick a place and filename for xp3.
5. Click on File (here):

6. Click on this arrow:

7. Go back and click here


All done, just move your xp3 where you need to.
Thanks for the guide, but still no luck. Still no change in the script whatsoever.

I wonder, is it possible (and feasible) to add a few debug lines to the startup script? I saw some things that look like debug messages, but I've never seen any output. Is it possible to turn debug messages on so I could try some of my own?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2009-02-19, 22:58
Enerccio's Avatar
Enerccio Enerccio is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 302
Default

You probably can run debug console but that I dunno how, sorry.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2009-03-20, 12:58
Lacan Lacan is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

qazmlpok, just out of curiosity, how did you modify insani tools for encryption anyways? I'm having trouble repacking .xp3 with encryption.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2009-03-27, 05:24
qazmlpok qazmlpok is offline
Visitor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacan View Post
qazmlpok, just out of curiosity, how did you modify insani tools for encryption anyways? I'm having trouble repacking .xp3 with encryption.
I extracted the files without decrypting them and opened some audio files in a hex editor. The first four bytes of a .ogg file are OggS, so I could compare the encrypted and unencrypted versions of those 4 bytes to get the XOR key. I was lucky, since the encryption was just a single byte XOR over the entire file.

If you meant how did I actually modify the tools, you'll need to learn a little bit of programming. The tools are written in Python, but if you know any language you should be able to manage. Look at the function 'decrypt' in xp3-extract and 'encrypt' in xp3-repack. Just follow what's already there to apply the encryption.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2009-05-14, 19:20
Starchanchan's Avatar
Starchanchan Starchanchan is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: in the rainstorm
Posts: 220
Send a message via AIM to Starchanchan Send a message via MSN to Starchanchan
Default

qazmlpok—did you ever get this working? And if so, would you be willing to share the modified tools? Because I'm having the same problem; the built patch.xp3 doesn't seem to load, but when I rebuild the entire data.xp3, it works fine.
__________________
Echoes of Thunder | Deja Vu
I fell in love at the seaside.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2009-06-10, 08:11
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is there a way to get this working with encryption? I've got it working, but FSN doens't like the patch.

Trying to insert changed images.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2010-05-29, 22:04
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I want to ask something, when I try to extract a video from the xp3 file of [AXL] Kashimashi Communication with crass, I have a warning like this:
est_ed1.mpg: crc error (0x1aa6197d), should be 0xcc44a38a.

I try to xor that two hex string and give me 0xd6e2baf7, my question:are this string is a xor key for the xp3 file?
If this is not the xor key, please give me a hint to find them, I completely newbie at this...
Thank You.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2010-05-31, 11:08
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just a reminder to everyone: be aware that the encryption isn't be always a single xor key encryption. So unless you know exactly how the encryption works, making guesses won't get you anywhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unpacked and decrypted KIRIKIRI's xp3 file but still running into problems Unregistered Production & Help 6 2013-02-01 14:51
make patch.xp3 files work with osadai fandisc cedr777 Production & Help 6 2012-02-01 17:39
Help repacking encrypted .xp3 and making patch.xp3 Slash Production & Help 5 2011-07-25 01:49
Xp3 tools. Help! IxIoN Production & Help 11 2010-01-26 10:29
Kirikiri XP3 tools revised ChocoEd al|together 0 2006-07-08 22:25


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.