gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > Technical Issues

Technical Issues For bug reports, problem solving, and help running Japanese software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2006-07-07, 15:40
key products fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Troubleshooting with planetarium

When I start it, it freezes when the screenshot comes up after the writing. Is there any possible reason for this? I installed the patch but I'm not sure if I should do anything else. Is it to do with memory?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-07-07, 15:43
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

The simplest solution is to set your default language to Japanese. If you don't want to do that, read the "Known Issues" section here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-07-08, 04:23
key products fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Troubleshooting with planetariu

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-07-08, 04:36
key products fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

But it still hasn't worked. It could be memory, because I saw the virtual memory warning icon pop up on the side bar when the game loaded up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-07-08, 04:43
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Interesting. Could you perhaps provide a few more details, such as which version of Planetarian you're using, which version of Windows you're using, and exactly where the game freezes (i.e. which text do you mean)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-07-08, 05:58
key products fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have Windows XP and it freezes right after the opening text about the planetarium.



At this moment I hear someone talking in japanese and it freezes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-07-08, 06:11
JRaiKetchum's Avatar
JRaiKetchum JRaiKetchum is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Central WV
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to JRaiKetchum Send a message via Yahoo to JRaiKetchum
Default

Sounds like the old missing font crash. Same thing happened on my friend's computer when I installed the planetarian demo with WinXP. And I even had it set up for Japanese locale because I was running Melty Blood on it already (and we also tried to run Duel Savior cause he wanted it, but it wouldn't even run on XP =/).

Have you tried installing the Sazanami Gothic font yet? Install that font and then try starting planetarian back up. That should fix the problem.

Ganbatte ne
-Rai
__________________
Breathe Deep.
The answers are all around you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2006-07-08, 06:31
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Or, like I said, set your language for non-Unicode applications to Japanese.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2006-07-09, 04:43
key products fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have already installed the Sazanami Gothic font but it still doesn't work. How do you set your language for non-Unicode applications to Japanese?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2006-07-09, 05:37
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Control panel, Regional and Language Options, Advanced, change "Language for non-Unicode programs" to Japanese.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2006-07-09, 07:49
key products fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I went to the Planetarium today DragonmasterX General Discussion 21 2006-09-03 07:31
ONE troubleshooting F.I.A Technical Issues 1 2006-06-27 11:09


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.