gemot encubed  

Go Back   gemot encubed > Gemot > Technical Issues

Technical Issues For bug reports, problem solving, and help running Japanese software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2006-11-21, 16:19
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default Sound in some vns...

About the recently released vn's for altogether 2006, do they have sound or music? O.o

I get to the ending of wanderers in the sky and theres "BMG" in the thing, but i heard no music. Is this alright?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-11-21, 22:51
Message's Avatar
Message Message is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Default

Many doujin release use midi music, go to your volume control and check if your 'midi' or 'synthesiser' control isn't muted.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-11-22, 06:51
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

Ah I checked...
Still no go...
Could it be anything else?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-11-22, 08:28
Message's Avatar
Message Message is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Default

What is your OS?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-11-22, 11:02
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

Windows XP Pro. Service pack 2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-11-22, 12:56
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Can you play MIDI music outside the game?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-11-22, 13:01
Message's Avatar
Message Message is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Default

Hmmm. In Cicadas, do you hear the chirruping sound effects at the beginning (.wav)? And can you hear the piano music in adagio (.mp3)? If yes, it would appear to be a problem with your midi synthesis after all.
If your volume is on and if you can play back regular midis (try c:\windows\media) without trouble... In Control Panel / Sounds and Audio Devices (not sure of the English name) / Audio (or music or whatever, third tab), under Playback of MIDI music, check if something's selected in the drop-down box. If there are two options, try the other.

If everything appears to be in order, you could always try reinstalling your audio drivers...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2006-11-23, 09:56
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

alright, ill try that lata, im going away for a bit ^^

Ty and peace mate ^_^
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2006-11-23, 11:40
DaFool DaFool is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 97
Default

I had the same problem with this particular piece.

My computer plays other VNs with MIDI music just fine.

The soundcard is just a generic Soundblaster.

-----------------------

Actually, it isn't just onscripter, but I had the same result of playing archived midi music in my own game in Ren'Py.

My conclusion is that some old generic brands of soundcards don't like archived midi. They play unarchived midi just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2006-11-23, 12:39
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Hmm, but I didn't think ONscripter played archived MIDI. It extracts the current track to a file called "tmp.mid", and I've been assuming it played that...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2006-11-26, 18:28
Ayato's Avatar
Ayato Ayato is offline
Obsessive
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to Ayato
Default

Ara... No sound ^^;;
I reinstalled soundblaster and still got nothing.

So do the novels actually have sound? O.o
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2006-11-27, 00:10
Haeleth's Avatar
Haeleth Haeleth is offline
Ex-boss
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: England
Posts: 2,106
Default

Yup. The only one I can think of offhand that doesn't is the 'Flanca' half of The world to reverse. Certainly Wanderers in the Sky has music, which plays just fine on my Win2k box with an oldish Soundblaster.

If you navigate to the folder where the game was installed, there should be a file there called "tmp.mid". Try opening that and see if you can play it in an external program.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying VNs in digital download Unregistered General Discussion 4 2011-03-15 00:26
Buying some VNs, need some help. nhat General Discussion 16 2008-12-09 04:47
Recording VNs Unregistered General Discussion 4 2008-04-02 06:02
M12's VNs M12 General Discussion 2 2007-10-31 02:36


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 17:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.