PDA

View Full Version : Linux Installation HELP?

Andrico
2007-06-20, 12:46
Linux newbie here, recently upgraded from M$ Windows XP, and I have no clue how to run this terminal. So far all I've figured out on my own is [su]. Would someone give be the code that I have to run to install the files for Linux? I have what I want downloaded, and I know that it's a .tar.bz2 file, but I don't know whether I should configure it or what. help? Thanks in advance.

Roto
2007-06-20, 17:30
Which game are you trying to run?

The games available for download from VisualNews that are marked as x86 linux each have a precompiled version of onscripter. So, you'll want to extract the archive, put it where you want, and then run the "onscripter" program that was in the archive. For example, say you downloaded Adagio. You would do the following:

tar xjf 'AdagioSetup[insani][AT2006].tar.bz2'
cd Adagio
./onscripter

which would start running the game.

Andrico
2007-06-21, 12:30
I'm planning on installing basically every game that is offered for Linux, but also want to know how to install Second Life :-)

Ok, here are the error codes I get:

tar: AdagioSetup[insani][AT2006].tar.bz2: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
[root@localhost ~]# cd Adagio
-bash: cd: Adagio: No such file or directory

And then, with Instant Deat! Panda Samurai, I can un-archive it I can't get any farther than that. I've tried this with root and non-root accessw, so I know it's not that.

Misu
2007-06-21, 14:25
Well, are you sure your in the right directory?
Cause the error is telling you that in the directory you are in at the moment you ran tar xjf 'AdagioSetup[insani][AT2006].tar.bz2' is not where Adiago was downloaded to. You have to be in the same directory that you downloaded Adiago to to run just tar xjf 'filename.exe' without specifying the full path.