PDA

View Full Version : Oh! Text Hooker?

GreatSaintLouis
2006-01-14, 14:32
I reinstalled Clannad (first printing, baby! ^_^) the other day, and like I did when I first got it, I fired up Oh! Text Hooker to give my lousy kanji recognition a hand. Unfortunately, I'm not getting any output in the OTH window whatsoever. The Amikai website the program uses to translate the text is still at the same address (an issue that invalidated a previous version of OTH). Has anyone heard anything that might be the cause of this issue?

Barring that, are there any other free utilities of this sort that work in a similar manner - hooking text out of programs and running it through an automated translator?

Roto
2006-01-14, 16:10
I'm fairly new to OTH (actually, I only just tried it the other day, so I've never seen it work properly.)

The best I can tell, though, the address for Amikai hasn't changed since the Feb 2004 version of jetrans.dll. The change that did occur was that was fixed in the Dec 2004 version of jetrans_041223.dll is one to the format of the translation page: the text areas went from 30 columns to 45 columns.

Looking at the source code for Amikai, though, I can't seem to find anything that's changed. I haven't studied everything in great detail, but at first glance, it looks like it still should work. In fact, I've gotten OTH to work sporadically, but only one line of text every now and then.

Perhaps it has something to do with Amikai's backend? Something subtle they changed on the server?

Also, how does one compile a .dll (or anything on Windows for that matter?) I can play around with the source for jetrans and see if I can figure something out, but I'm a Mac/Unix developer and don't really know much about compilers on Windows...

l|ammamama
2006-01-14, 16:17