PDA

View Full Version : Possibilities for (graphic) Minimalism

Claudio
2005-12-18, 21:29
Short "Hello, I'm a newbie" paragraph, skip if in a hurry :
Greetings. I am new to this forum and it was only very recently that I became acquainted with visual novels (Not to bishoujo, though; I'd wager my very first was Season of Sakura, since everything else was shallow hentai, which I didn't appreciate much). I find them wonderful and hope to see a thriving market developing; I bought Planetarian for 45 pesos (roughly 10 dollars + S&H), applied the patch and was moved to tears, then Narcissu and Kanon (THANK YOU HAELETH, this game was too good to miss!) and blah blah blah. Ok, enough.

Now, I'm sure you might have already discussed the virtues of graphically minimalist works such as Plain Song and whatnot. I'm quite aware of the fanbase's preference for translated Japanese works, but let's put it this way :
I loved Plain Song. I hated ITSDTA - too inconsistent for my taste.
So I spoke unto the fiery depths of my mind : Hey, here's where the Coulomb barrier breaks, all my life I have been separated from creating a visual novel by a chronic lack of drawing ability, but now I can see the light! I might just be able to take all those old drawings and star charts and stories and give them life in a quality my words alone could never portray!

But hell, that's just being too optimistic. I know my Murphy laws well enough, and I wanted to know YOUR take on a "filthy gaijin" with a knack for writing (and programming) trying his hand on minimalist graphic novels. NOT REN'AI. All the english v-novels I found floating about included amateur bishoujo drawings and dates.

Ok, this might have been a little *too* long of a first post. Sorry all and thanks.

Shii
2005-12-18, 22:26
This sounds like a brilliant idea. And as far as I know, you would indeed be the first to create a non-romantic visual novel outside of Japan.

l|ammamama
2005-12-18, 22:39