PDA

View Full Version : Help with voice patch


vikitehwaffu
2004-06-11, 22:43
I have Windows XP, Kanon all age.
The voices were patched in correctly, as I can play them in their DAT files.
But for some reason, the translation patch can't read the voice files, and no voices in translation. Can someone help me?

Aldareon
2004-06-11, 23:02
I know this might seem like a stupid question, but you DID extract the voice patch files and the main patch in the same directory, right?

Also, as a quick check, if you install the voices on the original game you should be able to hear the voices even before the patches are installed.

Stranger
2004-06-11, 23:52
1st, did you try to play the game without the Translation patch, to see if the voice was installed correctly.

2nd, as Aldareon said, did you download and extract the voice add-on to the translation patch, and keep both in the same directory before installing.

3rd, which voice add-on did you get, DC or PS2. I beleave the Hæleþes does NOT support PS2 voice patch yet (not sure if he will or not).

P.S. incase you have the PS2 game.... what does it have that is extra to the DC and PC game (other then Yuuchi's voice). CG na na????

P.S.S. What do you mean by the voice work in thier "DAT" files... I always thought that they will eather be WAVE (extra large) or MP3 (smaller, but can't make them yet).

Haeleth
2004-06-12, 04:14
The voices were patched in correctly, as I can play them in their DAT files.
But for some reason, the translation patch can't read the voice files, and no voices in translation. Can someone help me?
One thought - if you used MP3 encoding when you installed them, make sure you have an ACM MP3 decoder installed. You'll be able to play them back in Windows Media Player, WinAMP, etc., without one, but you'll need one for them to be played in the game.

P.S.S. What do you mean by the voice work in thier "DAT" files... I always thought that they will eather be WAVE (extra large) or MP3 (smaller, but can't make them yet).
Presumably that he can play them when he goes into C:\KANON\DAT\whatever and double-clicks on a WAV file.

vikitehwaffu
2004-06-12, 06:33
Yeah, I put both the translation patch and voice patch in the same directory. It doesn't matter where I put them as long as they are extracted and together, right?

And yes, I have DC version. And the game works with voices in the orginal, non translated version.

I didn't use MP3 encoding, but is it needed for playing voices in the game? I thought I didn't need it for non MP3.

And yeah, I double click on wave files in the dat folder.

ChronoReverse
2004-06-12, 09:23
MP3 is just for smaller fles.


A morbid thought just came to me...

After you clicked the "Install Voices" button and extracted the voices to the game directory (so that the files appear in the /DAT directory), did you remember to click the "Patch Game" button and choose the correct version of the game you have?

Haeleth
2004-06-12, 10:30
Well, we can find that out automatically.

Triple-check: in the C:\KANON\DAT folder, you have twelve other folders named 0-9, A, and B, and those contain files named 0000.WAV, 0001.WAV, and so on, right?

The next thing to check is whether the right patch was installed. Download this program (http://haeleth.net/temp/seen_sig.zip), unzip it into C:\KANON\DAT, then open a command prompt and type
c:
cd \KANON\DAT
seen_sig SEEN.TXT
That should print a string of 32 letters and numbers, like "8b327778e3e1dc56771c1efb5a1eedf0", which uniquely identifies the precise version of the patch you have installed. If you post what it prints, I can probably tell from that how to fix the problem.

vikitehwaffu
2004-06-12, 18:12
It says that the system can't find the path specified.

EDIT-Oh, I think I can guess what's wrong. When I am supposed to choose the game DAT is for the first part, I am supposed to choose the disc, and not the Kanon folder in C:/, right?

Aldareon
2004-06-12, 19:32
no .. the program is supposed to find the patch version right? That means you have to check the installation directory. The error you had means it can't find the kanon\dat directory. Maybe you mistyped the command or installed to a different directory?

Here's a more detailed explanation:
Go to the "run" command (windows key + r), type in "cmd", and you should see a black windows command prompt.

Type in "cd c:\", then "cd kanon", then "cd dat" - alternatively just type in "cd c:\kanon\dat". Make sure you have the seen_sig.exe file in that directory (check by typing "dir /w /p" or head over to windows explorer). From there you can type in "seen_sig SEEN.TXT"

When you see the result, you can use the copy and paste feature by clicking on the "c:\" icon on the most upper left hand section of the window. Took me 2 years before I discovered that feature!

vikitehwaffu
2004-06-12, 19:34
Thank you all for your help. It turns out that I was missing some files in my voice patch when I was frustrated and forgot to move them back. Silly me.
It works! Wai wai~
*Does the dance of shame*