PDA

View Full Version : Comic Party Unpacker Tool

EsperKnight
2009-01-14, 14:01
Hello all,
I've been reading the forums for a while trying to learn what I can about reverse engineering file formats and finally took the plunge and went for it. I present to you the fruits of my labor, a tool to unpack the .pak files of Comic Party. I've been wanting to see this translated and saw that no one has really looked at it, I figured I'd give it a shot.

From what I've sample it appears to extract everything fine, except it doesn't turn the .msk files or font files into BMPs just yet. I'm still learning the BMP format and haven't looked to see what the palette is for these (I'll update it later when I find them if they do use it as a BMP, why they may not).

I've also included my code with this (which is hopefully pretty straight forward in showing how there decompression scheme works). I haven't coded a compression scheme to go the reverse though since it appears we'd need a key to do it (it uses a key that's AND'd against to find out if it show do a run and other bytes to set up counts, reset the buffer, etc. etc). The good thing is though, I don't believe we'd need a compression routine to reinsert them since as long as you set the 0th byte to FF and every 9th byte after that to FF it won't trigger a run, instead it'll just build it normally.

If anyone looks at this let me know if you find any bugs or not please. Also later on I'm going to possibly post a walkthrough/tutorial on how I reversed it so it could possibly help anyone else looking at learning this (more of a guide of what to look for possibly).

Also, if anyone would like to help in translating please let me know! Thanks!

EsperKnight

zalas
2009-01-15, 22:47