PDA

View Full Version : Ever17 sound question


Unregistered
2007-10-03, 20:59
When I installed Ever17, the opening movie has sound, but the menus and in-game play have none. I think it's a problem with my sound codec, and all I've done to attend to this problem have ended in failure. All other games I've played work, just not this one. It's not a disc problem either, since I've installed it on three other computers, and it works fine for my friends.

jyuichi
2007-10-04, 17:52
Obviously your speakers are on so...

What operating system do you have?
Do you have the latest version of DirectX?

dsp2003
2007-10-17, 01:39
Probably that's because the Microsoft® ADPCM codec is damaged or absent (all WAF sound files of the KID engine games is in that format).

who_is_friend
2007-10-30, 22:19
Thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou!

It works PERFECT now.

In case anyone else has the same problem...

Choose Start > Control Panel > Add hardware. Click ‘Next’.

Choose 'Yes, I have already connected the hardware', then click ‘Next’.

Choose 'Add a new hardware device' (at the bottom of the list) and click ‘Next’.

Choose 'Install the hardware that I manually select from a list (Advanced)', and click ‘Next’.

Select 'Sound, video and game controllers' and click ‘Next’.

Select '(Standard system devices)' and click 'Have Disk'.

Click 'Browse' when you get the 'Install From Disk' dialog box and open the C:\Windows\System32 folder.

In here you will find the mmdriver.inf file. Select it and click ‘Open’.

Click 'OK' in the 'Install From Disk' dialog box.

If you see a warning about logo compatibility, just click 'Continue Anyway'.

Now you should see a list of audio codec’s. Amongst it you should find Microsoft ADPCM Audio Codec and IMA ADPCM Audio Codec (the two that I was missing) and many others. You can install what you require from here.

You need to install them one by one so select each in turn and click ‘Next’. This should re-install the codec (for the IMA ADPCM you will need your Windows XP CD, and for both you will need to restart your computer before the codec works). Repeat the procedure for each codec for which you need support

If you are asked for a .dll file with the IMA codec, use the one in the system32 folder.

Good Luck!!!

Richard 23
2007-10-30, 23:27
I love how the people on this forum always solve problems. You guys are the best!